Cameroon fried rice recipe

Agien Petra
3 min readSep 12, 2022

--

Screenshot of my fried rice from the video

Do you feel some job requirements are strange? Yes, I felt that way too, and this is my story.

I applied for a project manager role, and its requirements was making a video of my favorite dish from preparation to serving, paying keen attention to details alongside nutritional values.

Then, I thought of making a video of garri and sugar(popular, affordable, and life-saving) 😅 . You know, including milk, pear, and why not some mayonnaise just how I love it. It is nutritional and delicious too but then, I thought of the international community, so I went with fried rice.

According to the methods,

1.Meat preparation:
I use beef (or chicken). Well, I’ve never really tried goat meat..😆. For spices, I use Maggi, salt, hot pepper, and onions.

💡: Meat should taste good. Do not put too much water, and keep in mind you need some meat sauce for rice preparation.

2. Rice preparation:
Main ingredients include rice, sauce from the cooked meat, garlic, ginger, thyme, rosemary, rice spice, curry powder (for coloring), white pepper, garlic, ginger (optional), Maggi, salt (bear in mind, you had used some in the meat).

💡: I use Uncle Ben parboil rice(or any other which is not too starchy well, to avoid mushy rice).

3. Vegetable preparation:
I poured groundnut oil into a preheated pot, added onions, and stir. Then I put my green spices(parsley, celery, “cutting manjoh”, ( okay scratch that, it’s called basil), green pepper, and leeks) and stir to cook. Then, I put in my vegetables (carrots, green beans, can corn, can peas, and chopped meat).

💡: Add salt and Maggi for taste. Do not overcook the vegetables.

4. Mixing:
This is the last step of my fried rice preparation. I put in small groundnut oil, and a bit of butter. When heated, I add vegetables. After heating, the cooked rice is added. I mix gently until uniform, then transfer it into a cooler, and continue the process.

Tip: I use butter for a shiny look

P.S: For some reason, I do not use sachet spices. 😥

Summary

Ingredients:

Rice(3L), groundnut oil(0.5L), Spices (Garlic(10 gloves), ginger(1/2 inch)), thyme(2 tbsps.), rosemary(2 tbsps.), rice spices(2 tbsps.), white pepper(2 tbsps.), maggi(6 cubes), salt(2 tbsps.), hot pepper (optional), butter, can corn(1 cup), can peas(1 cup), carrot(3 cups), green beans(1 cup), meat, onions, curry powder(3 tbsps.).

Method:

Season meat with Maggi, onion, salt, and pepper and cook till ready. Then cut into desirable bits and keep.

Use the meat sauce to cook the rice. Add the rest of the spices in moderation (garlic, ginger, white pepper, thyme, rosemary, rice spices, Maggi, salt, curry powder), and cook the rice till ready, (do not overcook) then keep aside.

Next, for the vegetables, pour in the oil and allow to heat. Fry onions, greenspices, the rest of the vegetables, then the meat in that order. Add some Maggi and salt as well for taste. Simmer and do not overcook.

In a separate pot, pour in a small quantity of oil, and add a bit of butter. When heated, put in vegetables, and stir. Add the cooked rice (the quantity that is reasonable with the vegetables), mix to uniformity, and remove. Repeat the process till all your rice is mixed.

Bon appetite. 😋
check out the video I did by clicking Here.

Comments are welcome…

--

--

Agien Petra

I love reading and writing around my daily encounters, around the technology industry.